doc.overops.com

Managing Team Members

Introduction

OverOps promotes working in teams: transferring events to another team member, notifying a team leader, or just for reassurance. OverOps enables you to share error analysis with team members and grant or revoke access to the Dashboard for any number of people.

Adding or Removing Team Members

Unlimited number of team members can be invited to view events occurring on the monitored server (or group of servers), allowing each member to create their own view and filter for relevant items.

To add a team member:

  1. Open OverOps Settings Page by clicking on Settings in the top right corner in the OverOps dashboard.

    1. Under the "General Settings->Team" menu, enter the team member’s email address, select the role you assign for this user (either member or viewer) and click Add.
      An email invite to the OverOps deployment is sent.
      To accept the invitation, the new team members must click the link in the mail.
  2. At any point in time after the invitation has been sent you can change the team member's permissions (admin, member or viewer). You can only assign a user an Admin role after you added the user to the key.

This requires admin or owner privileges and can be changed.

Team Settings window

Team Settings window

Once the invitation is accepted, the new team member is prompted to register at OverOps in order to access the analysis information.

Invited team members with no account, are displayed in the Team Settings window as 'Waiting for confirmation'. Deleting team members blocks access to the servers associated with that account (or specific key when using multiple keys).

An invitation is associated with the installation key used at the time the team member was added. When managing multiple environments, you can use multiple keys to control which servers are accessible for each user by using an installation key for each group of servers (for example: production servers, development, QA, etc). To allow team members access to multiple environments, you must invite them separately for each key.

User Privileges

Member - New team members gain admin-like permissions to use OverOps: install and add new servers to the list of monitored servers, view error and exception analyses, add labels, hide and resolve errors, submit Jira issues, create their own private filters, share errors with other team members, and add additional team members.

Viewer - New viewers gain read-only access to the environment.
A viewer can access the Events explorer, edit event notes, access the different team views, the ARC screens and the Reliability Dashboard.
However a Viewer will have limited access to the Settings, to the API and will not be allowed to invite other members to the Key or to generate a new environment keys (a viewer will be allowed to create new keys only if this user has different roles in other environments).

Privileges reserved for Admins and Owners include editing security and account settings, and revoke access for team members added by them.

Owner only controls the plan and billing options.

Sharing Notes with Team Members

Events in OverOps are shareable. You can add notes and share them with team members, or assign the event to team members. The added notes are attached to the specific event in the OverOps Dashboard.

To add and share notes:

  1. From the Dashboard, open the event.
  2. From the upper left side, click Add a Note.
    The Add a Note dialog box opens.
  3. Enter/edit the note text and/or tag team members and click Save Changes.

Or

  1. From the Dashboard, click + to edit columns and check the Notes checkbox to add the Notes column.
  2. In the row of the event, click the icon to add or edit a note.
    The Edit Note dialog box opens.
  3. Enter/edit the note text and/or tag team members and click Save Changes.

The note will be attached to the specific error and will be visible to your team.

Add and share Notes.

Add and share Notes.

Tagging Team Members

Notes are visible in the Dashboard to everyone in your team. Tagging specific team members sends them an email notification about the note. This tool helps you involve team members in the discourse on an event. All correspondence through notes is accompanied by email notifications.

To tag team members:

  • From the Add/Edit Note dialog box, enter the members names or their email addresses in the Tag people box and click Save Changes. (Note that the Settings Dashboard supports the use of very long email addresses).

New team members can also be invited to OverOps using this screen in order to view an error. When adding a non-registered user, OverOps offers to add them to your team. Click Yes, then Save.

Updating a Note

If a team member shares an error with you and you want to comment on it, you can edit the note. To do so, open the shared note from the dashboard and click on the “edit” button on the top right side of the screen. Write your comment and save your changes, and the people tagged in the note will be notified of your comments. All team members tagged in a note (including its creator) will receive a notification when the note is updated.

Super Admin Role for On-Premises Deployments

The Super Admin role (available only in on-premises deployments) creates a user that has the permission to upload global user defined functions (UDFs).

To support this new role, a new set of admin-cli commands have been added to the solution:
Syntax:
./takipi-server.sh admin-cli LIST_SUPER_ADMINS
./takipi-server.sh admin-cli SET_SUPER_ADMIN <user@company.com>
./takipi-server.sh admin-cli UNSET_SUPER_ADMIN <user@company.com>

Related Articles

Account Settings
Hiding and Resolving Errors
Installation Keys
Labels
Troubleshooting

Managing Team Members


Suggested Edits are limited on API Reference Pages

You can only suggest edits to Markdown body content, but not to the API spec.